Purple Sweet Potato Pie

I haven't done much single-dish posting here, but I wanted to show off the purple sweet potato pie I made during my long weekend.

Pie with two slices cut out of it

Making one of these has been on my to-do list for years! This is a first try — it was also my first time making a pie in several years. The flavor was as good as a normal sweet potato pie but nothing unique. But that color was the entire point.

I had wanted the filling to be perfectly blended, but after seeing the finished product I quite like the color contrast, and it's nice to see bits of unadulterated, deep purple potato.

Recipe for Pureed Sweet Potato Pie from Farm Journal

I used my standby sweet potato pie recipe from a Farm Journal compilation cookbook (handwriting in scan is my mom's). My only alterations were substituting Okinawan sweet potatoes for the typical orange ones, and I used a blend of cinnamon, clove, cardamom, nutmeg, and coriander for the spice.

The crust is the basic-ass pastry from the 1963 edition of the Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book, Crisco and all, because the thought of having to cut butter into flour was making me seriously consider skipping the entire project. I used apple cider instead of water, after seeing a tip in the same book to use orange juice to flavor pastry, and it didn't make a damn bit of difference.

This was also my first time actually attempting the make the crust look good, as opposed to just folding the extra pastry over the filling and calling it “rustic”. I never made anything remotely good-looking with playdoh as a kid and it's coming back to haunt me.

Close up of the inside of the pie

I forgot to get whipping cream at the store the previous two times I shopped, so the pie got eaten naked. I had envisioned it with lightly flavored whipped cream (I hadn't decided on a flavor) and a sprinkle of the pinkish-purple rose sugar I made this past summer, but it didn't happen.

I also keep losing track of the time and finishing cooking projects after the natural light has disappeared for the day (before 5!), and having dishes pile up... Photos were rushed and taken in a state of next-day dejection.

A slice of pie on a brown plate

Notes for next time:

The uncut pie

#Recipes